Sketchbook Progress

So far for my sketchbook progress I have been experimenting with different techniques for making homemade paper.

Somethings I tried were creating multi-colored papers by blending different colored construction paper, appliqueing different things to the paper once it was formed, adding things such as tooth picks and newspaper to give the paper more of a texture, and experimenting with different thicknesses.

Here are some images of my process:

IMG_9005

IMG_9007

IMG_9009

IMG_9258Here are my results.

I also did some research on Chinese calligraphy and how this art for has so much meaning. Its not always about the end result but about the process it takes to get there. Each character and image is done with such grace and intention every mark leaving more then just a mark on the paper. They let the paper and the poems speak to them. I found a site that explained this process in a way I understood it.

 Chinese Ink on Paper

I think this project is coming along nicely, I plan to make more paper and I have already researched in my Book binding book some possible bindings that I think might work. I plan for the book to be smaller maybe 5 x 8 since the sheets I am making are 8.5 x 11 I will need to cut the edges off to make the paper more stable.

About nicoledarrigan

My name is Nicole Darrigan and I am a new media graphic design student in my 4th year. Three words I would use to describe myself are hard working, determined, and fun. Some of my favorite movies are The Wedding Singer and The Big Lebowski. I really like watching TV shows like movies. I have watched over 20 television series from beginning to end. I also love competition cooking shows like the next food network star and chopped. I do own a DSLR camera it is a Cannon Rebel T1i and I love it very much. If I could make any kind of movie without restrictions it would be a comedy. I love funny movies and it would be really fun to be apart of creating one. I don't really have much to offer as a resource to video making except for my camera and the creativity I can hopefully bring to the content. My goal is to graduate and find a job in advertising and I hope to graduate by 2013

Leave a comment